Auditor-General's Department South Australia Logo

Lotteries Commission of South Australia

Functional responsibility

The Lotteries Commission of South Australia (the Commission) is a statutory authority established pursuant to the State Lotteries Act 1966 (the Lotteries Act) with the principal function of promoting and conducting lotteries for South Australia.

The Commission, in conjunction with the Master Agent (Tatts Lotteries SA Pty Ltd), administers and promotes the following lotteries in South Australia:

  • Saturday X Lotto
  • Keno
  • Powerball
  • Oz Lotto
  • Monday and Wednesday X Lotto
  • Instant Scratch-Its tickets
  • Super 66
  • The Pools.

Financial statistics
Sales revenue: $442 million
Prizes: $268 million
Master Agent fee: $53 million
Gambling tax: $71 million
Number of FTEs: 9

Significant events and transactions
  • The Commission was reclassified from a ‘for-profit’ entity to a ‘not-for-profit’ entity for financial reporting purposes during 2014-15. This has resulted in presentation changes to the financial report, with the Statement of Comprehensive Income now presented on a net cost of services basis.
  • The Commission’s defined benefit superannuation plan was terminated effective 30 September 2014, with all defined benefit liabilities in the plan crystallised at this date and entitlements transferred to accumulation funds nominated by each employee.
  • Commission members’ terms expired on 30 June 2015. Changes to the Lotteries Act, as a result of the Statutes Amendment (Boards and Committees – Abolition and Reform) Act 2015, resulted in the appointment of a single Commissioner from 23 July 2015.

Financial statement opinion